Friendship on the trails

Well above the clouds in the west

Well above the clouds in the west

A new city can be tough. Where to live? How to meet people? Where to run?

When I came to LA in the beginning of 2013 I was lucky to have some good friends here. I knew the way, mostly, and quickly began to explore the vast city on my motorcycle.

But the best way to feel your way in a new place is to run. And the best way to run in a new place is find the fast locals. So I did then as I had done in New York in 2008. I joined a local running club.

The Trailrunners Club is, in some ways, the opposite of the Flyers. The latter are the biggest of New York. The former have, I’d guess, three dozen members. But the similarities are more important. The runners are fit and welcoming. They show you where to go. They provide new friendships, as well as structure and rhythm to the week – in this case, rising Sundays at 5:30 a.m. to begin the group run at 7 a.m.

Sycamore Canyon after the Spring Fires of 2013

Sycamore Canyon after the Spring Fires of 2013

There’s comfort in a group like that. During my frustrating time of injuries and forced rest I would often think of the long runs with Ernie, Tommy, Andy and the others, and I’d know that I could and would re-join them as soon as I was better.

The trails north of Los Angeles are, to me, a magical world. Quiet and wild, they provide an escape from the fast and furious auto culture. Hilly and sandy, they make for the best training possible. The views, the clean air, the friendly fellow runners and hikers – the canyon trails probably are my favorite place in, or near, the city.

The local Palisadian Post profiled the club recently. It’s a fun read. And it shows some of us running!

Palisadian Post

baldy2

 

Leave a Reply

