Nice cops

A run-in with the police is never fun. Yesterday I was stopped on the way to the airport. I had crossed – in my car – the double yellow line to get into the HOV lane. A police cruiser pulled me over; we had to cross through four lanes of heavy traffic. We stopped, the cop came to the passenger window where my friend Andy kept quiet. I nervously handed over my license and papers.

The officer took his time checking my papers. Sweating, I imagined huge fines and all sorts of trouble.

He walked back to the car, leaned in, handed my paper back, smiled, and said, “Happy birthday.”

* * *

Last week I was stopped in Venice on my bicycle. Scary, too, but I got away with a warning then. And I wrote a Dutch story about it in NRC Handelsblad. Thanks for checking it out!

NRC_20140624_1_008_article2

Leave a Reply

