The example we set

Post-run hang on a Dutch beach

Post-run hang on a Dutch beach

When I was little my grandfather would take my cousins and me running in the woods. Trimmen, we called it. I didn’t follow his lead for several self-destructive decades, but I never forgot the example he set. Now I see the same mechanism among the young people in my life. My sister Dorine is a runner and an active person in every way, which makes her children want to be the same way, naturally. My “little brother” from the Bronx, Tyrik, also became more active and interested in sports the more he hung out with me. We threw frisbees and footballs, we ran and walked, I got him running shoes.

The way we impact young people is especially clear among parents and children, of course. Runner’s World has a great story

IMG_1557

Sporty siblings

about it. Key point:

Mothers who run may not only improve their own health, but the health of their children. A recent study finds that mothers who are physically active are likely to have children who are also active.

You and less young running together in Italy

Young and less young running together in Italy

Leave a Reply

