A few words, perfectly timed

“Just keep in mind, jazz is medicinal.”

The great Les Davis, spinning records (as it were) on the XM Sirius channel Real Jazz. I listen to this almost every day all day. As I turned on the radio today after returning from my meniscus surgery, that was the first thing I heard Mr. Davis say. Thank you. Jazz does heal.

“Anyone can train hard. Do you have the discipline to recover?”

The amazing runner (and new mom) Lauren Fleshman on Twitter. I don’t regularly keep up with Twitter, but yesterday I did look, just before my operation. She provided some true and much-needed guidance in the form of this question, in just a few simple words. Thank you.

P.S. Surgery went well, I expect to be running a 50M trail ultra soon. Kidding. Sort of. I do feel good: from now on it is upward on onward! Good bye rock bottom.

Not a bad place to recover, if you must

Not a bad place to recover, if you must

One thought on “A few words, perfectly timed

Leave a Reply

