Back in business

Image

New Mexico

At 9000 feet I stopped to catch my breath, drink water and admire Santa Fe down below. And I thought: what am I doing? I mean: what am I doing not writing about this?

Today was a good run. Since I have slowly, carefully returned to my love – running – trails are what I crave. So running straight up Atalaya Mountain for about 3.5 miles, and back again with light feet jumping over rocks and roots, I felt alive. The sun was shining weakly. A breeze cooled me down. Hikers and their dogs greeted me kindly.

I felt free.

Coming back to the wonderful home of friends in Santa Fe I got to work. Change the look of the blog. Find photos. Start writing again.

I had stopped last fall when pain and a sense of doom (don’t ask) were keeping me from running and from writing about running. A lot has happened since then. A doctor shot steroids in my back to fix a herniated disc situation. I have gotten stronger. I moved away from New York, for now. Chi running is allowing me run well and pain free. I took my first yoga class. And as I am running between 20 and 30 miles a week again, I am also translating my running book. Stay tuned, please, for more information on that epic project (a 50K on New Jersey trails with a broken hand is nothing compared to this).

Here I will once again regularly report and ponder, describe and ask, rejoice and sulk. (Although the Triumph Tiger and the mind-blowing landscape of the south-west don’t really allow for much sulking.)

Image

Utah

If you are reading this, it probably means you like to run. Happy running. And as always, thanks for reading.

P.S. A word about Boston. I love Patriot’s Day there; the climax of my book is set at the 2009 Boston Marathon. Ten days after the bombs went off I feel that most everything has been said.

I would like to recommend my super fast friend Cécile Daurat (a runner’s perspective); a warm piece by Dennis Lehane (a Bostonian on Boston); and my brilliant friend Irshad Manji (the “upstander” effect beat the bystander effect, she argues.)

One thought on “Back in business

  1. Pingback: Thin air and red dirt | The Running Dutchman

Comments are closed.