Along the water

I love how New York is gradually and surely opening its many miles of waterfront. It is paradise for runners and bikers. This week I explored Red Hook, which I knew, and the path around and behind the Ikea, which I didn’t know. It is a gorgeous and quiet area, where signs point to the industrial past of the area. I was slowed down by the stunning views looking east and north, stopping to take photos. It could be one of my favorite places to run in the city right now. I am working on the perfect loop: from our home in Carroll Gardens, via the running track to and then beyond the Ikea, then loop north along the water Brooklyn Bridge Park, and over the Promenade through Cobble Hill toward home. About 7 miles, I think. Sweet.

Leave a Reply

