Thanks for this simple thing

Of the many people and things I am grateful for this Thanksgiving –there is this girl in Brooklyn…– I am especially thankful to be running again. I am not very fast, not especially graceful, and not quite myself yet. But I am running and it feels good.

Vera

I have tried to capture the power of the run in my book. Right now I just want to point out some inspiring  stories. My sister, who overcame old fears and self-perceptions; she is now a runner. My dear and speedy niece Vera, who ran her first 5K with me last spring. And then there is Ben Davis, whose journey on video I just can’t watch often enough. (Warning: you, too, will cry.)

Now I’m going to run off all that excellent wine, mole turkey, chocolate brigaderos, and butternut squash pie.

2 thoughts on “Thanks for this simple thing

Leave a Reply

