Book stuff

It’s one thing to write a book. It’s something else to see it in print, let it go, and wait for people to read it… But generally the feedback has been good. And the publisher in Amsterdam tells me book sales are going well. Second edition here we come! Hopefully.

The book can be ordered online.

Also, some pertinent images, with thanks to Menke Brinkman:

A reader

Presenting the book at the Amsterdam Marathon Expo. (I quickly learned that it's quite hard to sell yourself.)

7 thoughts on “Book stuff

  1. Hi, Diederik,

    From an ordinary runner in the Netherlands: quite an inspiring book you wrote! It was fun reading it and at the same time inspiring for dreaming about my first marathon? Will it ever come true? (note that I will be 50 next year, now runnig 3 times 10K a week).

    I just red somewhere that you got a PR in A’dam: congratulations … I will follow you.

    Good luck / Thijs

    • Hi Thijs,

      yesterday I left a comment (in Dutch) on one of Diederiks’s other posts and there I wrote that I just ran my first marathon to celebrate my upcoming 50th birthday. I only started running half marathons last year, so if you just gradually increase the distance of your long runs, then one day you should be able to make your dream come true too. But most importantly, keep enjoying your running!

      Good luck,
      -Albert

  2. Hi Diederik,
    Ik heb je boek in no-time uitgelezen. Erg inspirerend en motiverend. Na het lezen heb ik weer elke dag hardgelopen….daarvoor was de klad erin gekomen.

    Ik kijk uit naar een volgend boek! Succes.

    Sandra

    • Sandra, veel dank! Fijn om te horen. Lopen is natuurlijk inherent eenzaam, maar dit boek brengt me in contact met allerlei lopers overal. De wederzijdse herkenning houdt mij weer gaande!
      Run like the wind,
      DvH

  3. DvH: I love your blog! Great work – and my gratitude to you for expressing your own gratitude, something that too many of us have yet to learn. Been keeping my nose to the grindstone over the “holidays” because (I can’t remember if I told you) my pub date has been moved up from Sept 2011 to June 2011, so production deadlines are even tighter. Will email you this from my BB with follow-up. Hope you’re enjoying the cool sand. 😉

  4. Leuke site!. Er zijn nog weinig goede sites over dit onderwerp te vinden.
    Ben blij met jullie toevoeging!
    Ik kan helaas geen bookmark aanmaken naar therunningdutchman.wordpress.com in Firefox. 😦 Weten jullie hoe dit komt?

    Groetjes Barbara

Leave a Reply

