Why we run (VII)*

VICKY:

Triathlete and super runner

I run because it’s a part of me… It gives me confidence, allows me to think and makes me feel healthy.  To me, it’s the equivalent of eating or sleeping.  The ability to travel on your own two feet and experience the outdoors is something I could never live without.

*As I was writing my book I asked my running friends: Why do you run? Their answers varied wildly. Put together they provide a pretty good answer to the ultimate question that is at the heart of my book. In the end I was unable to include these thoughtful, honest answers in De rennende Hollander. During the coming weeks I will publish them here, one a day, with minimal editing. As I get ready for the Amsterdam Marathon, re-reading these words provides me with new inspiration every time.

Leave a Reply

