Rain and hills and 16 miles

At some point during my run a guy holding a beer and a fishing rod yelled at me: ‘You’re probably happy about this stuff, right?’ As I was at that moment 14 miles into my run, climbing a long, winding, gravelly hillside that made Harlem Hill look like a speed bump, it took me a moment to redirect my attention to him. What? Then I felt the rain and the breeze. He must have meant the cool drizzle, and so I yelled back over my shoulder that, yes, I loved it.

Not a bad place to be - and start a run

And I did. Sixteen miles on quiet country roads in Sullivan County, NY, after a perfect lunch with close friends. Some sun, some rain, amazing hills, lots of deer. Just a little over two hours, starting from my friend Daniel’s gorgeous new cottage in the woods. After the hottest New York summer in recorded history this was an excellent way to begin September.

One thought on “Rain and hills and 16 miles

  1. After I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is
    added I get four emails with the same comment.
    There has to be a way you can remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

